Virginia Bed & Breakfasts

Hume, Virginia Bed and Breakfasts
Home > Find a B&B > By City > Hume, Virginia

Hume was known as Barbee's Crossroads in the mid 19th century, after Joseph Barbee who leased the land from Denny Fairfax in 1787. The village was at the north end of the Leeds Manor Turnpike which was incorporated in 1848. The center of the village is at the corner of Leeds of Manor Road (Route 688) and Hume Road (Route 635), formerly known as the "Crossroads".

At one time, the village had three stores and four blacksmiths, a fourth store existed later. There were very large cattle farms in the surrounding areas, which used to employ many families. During the American Civil War, wounded from the First and Second Battles of Bull Run were taken to Barbee's Crossroads. The Leed's Church (Episcopal) was occupied at different times by both Union and Confederate soldiers. As a result of nearby fighting, the church walls were pierced by a shell which exploded within the church, damaging the interior. In 1873, the church burned and was rebuilt.

See Inns in and near Hume: Downtown | 1 Mile | 5 Miles | 15 Miles | 25 Miles | 50 Miles

The Inn at Vineyards Crossing
Distance from city center: less than 1 mile
Phone: 540.364.2INN (466)

Immerse yourself in the beauty of Virginia wine country at the Inn at Vineyard Crossing. Located near Loudon, Rappahannock and Fauquier County wineries - come and relax after a day of wine tasting and enjoy farm to table gourmet food and locally sourced wine.

Hume, Virginia
View Listing   Website   Availability